Netopia

I initially wanted to review this book because, well, I used to be mega addicted to Neopets. Common… it was before Facebook people… what else was there to do in the year 2000 when you were not watching Pokemon?
 
I received a PDF version, so I am working my way through a little slower than normal as it’s much smaller and harder to see. So far, it’s a decent read, but I need to get a few more chapters in before I can let you know my full opinion on this book. It will be coming out on the 8th of Feb for everyone to buy however, so I wanted to give you the chance to check it out. It is currently on pre-order for 3.99
 
This is how the promoter summarized the book
 
Netopia tells the story of a future world, without a defined time or place, ruled by an advance social network called “Minds”. In this network users communicate through thoughts. You can create any reality and make any fantasy come true. In this perfect aesthetic-sterile world you can even customize the weather.
 
Memory drugs rerun the experiences of the users, who instead of warm human relationships prefer to raise neopets, cloned, engineered and malleable creatures such as red panda-cats, orca-penguins or angora-owls. But those connected to Minds quickly discover that this fantastic network comes with a particularly chilling price tag.
Leave a Reply

