Reacher Grabber Pickup Tool

I sent the Reacher Grabber to a friend, because her mother was going to be having her hip replaced and needed this MUCH more than me just playing with it for my review. I asked her to please send me her thoughts and photos so I could still share them with you — even though a blog post was not required. Here is the AMAZING feedback she had to say about the Reacher Grabber…

The Deluxe Grabber has a substantial handle with a rubberized surface that rests against your palm for better control.

11297529_10153364964584100_1933082436_o

The grabber ‘hand’ has the same rubber lining on the inside to provide extra grip while picking up items. The grabber ‘hand’ is larger enough to hold a 32 oz soda cup, although I wouldn’t recommend picking up full cups for safety reasons. The two touch points at the end of the hand are about 3/4 of an inch across and capable of picking up a ‘handful’ at a time. It was especially useful when picking up clothing from the floor; I didn’t have to pick up each sock individually – I could grab a handful at a time.

11281671_10153364964474100_2051946548_o

The trigger is easy to pull and does not get stuck. The grabber has a nice fluid-like operation. The grabber did not come with any paperwork or instructions (ie. weight limit, warranty, etc.). Upon taking it out of the box, there was a crack in the black plastic piece around the metal stick where the grabber hand attaches to the stick. This crack does not prohibit or interfere with use, but I do worry about the durability of the unit with this crack. Even with daily use, including a number of heavier items, the crack has not gotten any longer or wider, so it may take some major force to break the unit. There was only a bit a brown paper to ‘protect’ the grabber in the package. But I think the crack probably happened before it left he warehouse.

11277943_10153364964124100_1691827196_o

I’ve picked up a men’s size 10 ½ sneaker and a pair of women’s leather clog type shoes with the grabber, both with ease. I’ve also used the grabber to pull across a wooden floor a camera bag with a digital SLR camera (approximately 4 – 5 pounds in weight) with no hesitation from the grabber.

11293287_10153364966969100_369009456_o

Overall, the Deluxe Grabber is a wonderfully convenient tool for those with arthritis, mobility problems, bending issues, height challenges, and pretty much anything that would cause an issue to reach an item on the floor. It’s great for reaching a dropped remote, pen or pencil, or cell phone, but cotton swabs, straight pins, sewing needles and very tiny items are a bit too much of a challenge for the Deluxe Grabber.

If this hadn’t arrived cracked, I would have given this 5 stars. But I’ll rate it 4 1/4 stars!

3 Comments

  1. Just tonight mom was reaching behind the couch for the garage door remote which had fallen off the hook on the wall. As she reached about half the length of the couch with the Deluxe Grabber she exclaimed, “How did I EVER live without THIS?!? I LOVE THIS THING!!!!” It has definitely made both our lives easier!

    Like

  2. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d
    figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you happen to be interested feel free to send me
    an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Excellent blog by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

