Green Smoothies: Vegetarian Weight Loss

Green Smoothies

One of the newest fads out in the health world is smoothies. Or, is it really an old one…just greener? Gone are the pre-mixed, powdered shakes, replaced with fruits, vegetables, nuts, spices, yogourt, coconut and almond milk — things to help the body run efficiently.

The book starts off listing different ingredients and what they are known to help with, such as apples being a source of fibre, aiding in digestion and regulating blood sugar. So if you are looking for a specific health benefit, you’d want to start in Chapter 1. Not every ingredient is listed however, so further research might be needed. Also, there are no links or references provided to verify this information given.

They stated in Chapter 2 that blending can help you digest and absorb nutrients as much as 90% more than chewing alone. Which is a large part of why smoothies have become so popular, in addition to hiding the taste of some vegetables that some people are not fond of with fruit and other natural sugars.

The book suggests to replace breakfast and lunch with a green smoothie*, and to eat a well balanced dinner with whole grains, fruits, vegetables and a source of complete protein (such as eggs, beans, rice, or quinoa) which “will” lead to weight loss.

*ALWAYS consult a doctor and/or nutritionist before starting a new diet plan. Why, you might ask? If you are taking any kind of medication, you never know if there could be some kind of interaction. With some prescriptions, for example, you cannot have grapefruit juice. It’s always best to check, and understand how your diets could affect your mood and energy level, or cause food-drug interactions. Source

Each recipe offers a nutrition information per serving, listing calories, fat, protein and carbohydrates. There is also a cover page for each recipe talking about the nutrients, contents, how to use it, etc.

My friend Katie helped me to review this book. I have all the ingredients to make a couple, and have just been running nuts lately and haven’t had the time. Here is what she thought about two smoothies from the book.

10850658_10153156540293536_22048872_n11051425_10153156540313536_526011321_n

Spinach and Citrus Smoothie

It took about 10 minutes to make (including getting the blender from the basement)! I really loved the orange flavour, although I did find it a bit sweet in the morning. I think if I made this smoothie again, I would use unsweetened plain yogourt (the recipe didn’t specify) and I would add some avocado or frozen green peas to cut the sweetness. Or maybe I would make it the same and have it as an afternoon sweet treat! I really liked the texture; it was viscous so you could use a straw, but still had some pulp. All things considered, I would make this smoothie again, I just might cut down the sweetness depending on the situation.

11050984_10102079926373251_1276456662_n

Sweet potato, Spinach and Banana

So I really wanted to like this smoothie because it has so many yummy, nutrient packed foods (spinach, banana and sweet potato). It took longer to prepare because I had to make the sweet potato (which I chopped into 1 inch cubes and steamed). I didn’t wait for the sweet potato to cool before whipping up the smoothie (I was hungry), so it made the smoothie a bit warm. I decided to put it in the fridge to cool it down to get the full experience. I am sad to say that this wasn’t my favourite smoothie. It had a very thick texture, so I had to eat it with a spoon (think jarred baby food) and it has a bit too much of a sweet banana taste for me. If I were to do this again, I would add more liquid and maybe something to add a bit of texture. I think I would add something a bit acidic too, such as strawberries or another berry. A bonus with this smoothie is that I feel like I am getting super healthy while eating it.

11039963_10102081456516831_986723350_n

Side note: I checked with Katie, and I think the sweet potato was supposed to be used raw (really surprised me too) so we think that would have definitely changed the texture – will try and make this one and give our thoughts

I think that many of the smoothies in the book look good, some are just not for me. Others, I would tweak either before or after trying based on my own personal tastes. I would not use these as meal replacements, but maybe more when I’m hungry between meals, or a cool snack on a warm day. Freezing some of the fruits or berries – if no ice is used, could be as a refreshing midday snack.

Get your very own copy of this ebook on Amazon.com

I was sent this e-book free of charge in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

