Jammy Jams – Once Upon A Rhyme

CD Cover

I’m back with another Jammy Jams Review – this time with the “Once Upon a Rhyme Hip Hop collection.

With the “Pop Goes Lullaby 4,” I reviewed, we listened while Little Man was in the Jolly Jumper, because, well, my laptop was right there. So this time, I tried it again and you know what he did? Laugh and giggle you might say, jump crazy — like last time MommaKauk? NOPE – he cried!

That got me wondering – maybe he just didn’t want to jump, SO – turned on the SiriusXM Radio to the top 20 channel and off he went jumping to his Pop music. A couple nights later I moved my laptop into the bedroom and got it all set up on his new IKEA dresser (my thoughts about that coming) and started rocking him to sleep with the Rhyme Time playing.

AND YOU KNOW WHAT!? Three songs in – THREE – he was passed out cold!!! Now, we always sing and rock to sleep while he nurses, but what was so AMAZING, was that he’s been fighting going to sleep the last week or so, not having naps and fussing a LOT at bed time… so this was crazy fast. No fussing, crying or squirming… just eat and passed out.

Tried it again the next night — same thing, within three songs, he was out like a light. LOVING the Rhyme Time for Little Mister. It’s mostly bells and Xylophone – like our sleep sheep, so maybe that helped (since our batteries are worn out). This can easy become part of our night time routine if this is the reaction we keep getting!

My favourites are their rendition of Gangsta’s Paradise (reminding me of the song “Once Upon a December” from Anastasia a little bit) and the Real Slim Shady, bringing me back to my high school days a little. If you listen online, or buy this, let me know what you think!

Songs on this Album

1. Hey Ya (Lullaby Rendition of Outkast)
2. California Love (Lullaby Rendition of 2Pac)
3. The Real Slim Shady (Lullaby Rendition of Eminem)
4. Gangsta’s Paradise (Lullaby Rendition of Coolio)
5. Girls (Lullaby Rendition of Beastie Boys)
6. Rock Box (Lullaby Rendition of Run-D.M.C.)
7. Summertime (Lullaby Rendition of DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince)
8. Regulate (Lullaby Rendition of Warren G)
9. Big Pimpin (Lullaby Rendition of Jay-Z)
10. Nuthin’ But A “G” Thang (Lullaby Rendition of Dr. Dre)

This album is available in the following formats: CD, CD w/ Digital Copy, Album Download Card, Digital Download – Available in the Jammy Jams Store as well as iTunes, Google Play, Amazon.com and many other retailers.  Available for streaming on Pandora and Spotify.

I received this album free so that I could review it. I was not compensated in any way. I was not required to write a positive review.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

